Ozark Mountain Bottleworks Root Beer

Ozark Mountain Bottleworks Root Beer

IMG_2109 IMG_2110

Website: http://www.ozmb.com/flavors.aspx

Sweetener: Sugar

Bottled at: Branson, Missouri

Purchase Location: Rocket Fizz

In my last review, found here, I discussed not prejudging a root beer by its label.  In that case, the label and its reference to the root beer’s low sugar, organic, and vegan qualities led me to judge that the soda would be less than wonderful.  It turned out that my prejudgment was correct.  I was pleasantly surprised, then, when my prejudgment of Ozark Mountain Bottleworks Root Beer turned out to be completely wrong.

The drab and featureless green label of Ozark Mountain Bottleworks Root Beer made me suspect that little effort had been put into the soda, and that it would be bland.  The label is so monotone, that it is difficult to read the ingredients or nutrition facts, they just blend in with the sea foam green background.  However, like I said, the root beer is neither bland nor drab, nor monotone.

For starters, Ozark Mountain Bottleworks Root Beer is quite sweet.  It has an almost syrupy sweetness.  The root beer is full and rich.  It has a hearty root flavor without having a strong bite.  Instead, Ozark Mountain Bottleworks Root Beer is dark and creamy, and leaves you satisfied.   Ozark Mountain Bottleworks Root Beer might be the root beer equivalent of a delicious, rich chocolate cake that satisfies your sweet tooth and that you can still taste minutes after finishing.

Overall Score: 8 of 10.

Leave a comment