Jones Soda Root Beer

Jones Soda Root Beer

IMG_0937IMG_0938

Website: https://www.jonessoda.com/

Sweetener: Inverted Cane Sugar

Bottled at: Seattle, Washington

Purchase Location: Galco’s Soda Pop Stop

Jones Soda was created in Vancouver, BC in 1995.  It was launched with the idea of incorporating random photographs onto its bottles using shots taken by one of its photographer founders.  Soon, however,  consumers began submitting their own photos, which Jones started placing on its bottles.  The photo on my bottle, photo # 1335141 taken by Robin Barker from Amarillo, Texas, looks up from below two wetsuit wearing snorkelers. If you have photo that makes the cut, it could be on the label of Jones Soda Root Beer.

In addition to its unique photo labels, Jones Soda’s caps “offer pearls of wisdom, advice, or simple daily pick me ups.”  My cap informed me, “You will be honored.”  I look forward to that.

Jones Soda is sweetened with inverted cane sugar.  Having no idea what that meant, I started doing a little research.  My research took me to an entry in an old Encyclopedia Brittanica on brewing.  I still don’t exactly understand what inverted cane sugar is, but a very abbreviated explanation is that it is a physical blend of the simple sugars fructose and glucose.  We are not going to get any more scientific on this post than that.

Although Jones Soda Root Beer has unique labeling features, the soda does not quite live up to its packaging.  Jones Soda Root Beer has something of a bitter bite.  The soda initially comes off as slightly stale and just a little off.  Its taste ends on a different note, however, as a very sweet and creamy root beer.  Jones has some good things going for it, but fails to pull it all together.

Overall Score: 6 of 10.

3 thoughts on “Jones Soda Root Beer

  1. I recently saw a store in my neighborhood which carries hard root beer (contains alcohol). I had never heard of it before. Sounds interesting. Have you ever tried it?

    Like

  2. Maybe a little photo developer slipped into the inverted cane sugar?

    I honor you oh knowledgable root beer respect. I respect you also.

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

    Like

Leave a Reply

