Brownie Caramel Cream Root Beer

Brownie Caramel Cream Root Beer

Brownie Root Beer Brownie Root Beer Cap

Website: http://www.orcabeverage.com/

Sweetener: Pure Cane Sugar

Bottled at: Mukilteo, Washington

Purchase Location: Galco’s Soda Pop Stop

What’s that,  another root beer revived from Orca Beverage Soda Works?  You better believe it.  This time, Orca has revived Brownie Caramel Cream Root Beer, a soda originally produced in 1929.  Without a definitive source on the issue, my internet searches indicate that Brownie was initially bottled by Atlas Bottling.  I could not find any information about when Brownie was discontinued, but if the current Brownie label is the one that was in use when the drink was discontinued, I would guess it occurred quite a while ago.

Brownie sports a very retro label.  It has the red, white, and blue circle that served as the old Pepsi logo, but in a slight oval.  At the top of that circle, the bust of a crosseyed sprite peers out over the word “Brownie.”  Orca’s website references the sprite noting,  “With a Sprite on the label, its’ [sic] easy to see how this mischievous and delicious blend of root beer & caramel came about.”  So, either this sprite (named Brownie?) invented this root beer and caramel blend, or the mischevious sprite is merely a symbol of the mischevious blend that is Brownie Caramel Cream Root Beer.  Either way, this is the first time I have considered that a root beer could be mischevious.

Mischevious or not, Brownie and its caramel cream make for a distinguishable root beer.  I am a staunch supporter of caramel.  I find it to be part of the upper echelon of dessert flavors.  The caramel cream in Brownie has something of a cream soda taste.  However, it is a darker, richer creamy flavor, without the vanilla overtones you expect in a cream soda.  The caramel itself has a toffee tinge.  Brownie was good, but not great.  I am not quite sure why I did not love Brownie.  I mean, it combines root beer with caramel.  Both flavors were good and there was nothing off-putting about the soda, but I just can’t say it was better than good.  I do, however, applaud Orca for making a caramel cream root beer.  A caramel cream root beer certainly needs to be available on the market.  I do also recommend that caramel lovers give this root beer a try.

Overall Score: 7 of 10.

4 thoughts on “Brownie Caramel Cream Root Beer

  1. The caramel flavor sounds delicious. Andddd how can it not be wonderful with a toffee flavor? Maybe if it lingered longer ,it would serve its purpose?

    I got pretty excited when I saw the word brownie next too caramel. Oh well…

    Sent from my iPad

    >

    Like

  2. I don’t drink a lot of soda pop but I LOVE Brownie when I can find it. I do find that the flavour can vary oh so slightly between batches, sometimes a slight bit fuller or weaker(watery) in body.

    Like

Leave a Reply

